“You’re never weird on the internet (almost)” by Felicia Day

I first came across Felicia while watching Supernatural. Needless to say that Charlie is one of my favorite characters. When I heared she wrote a book I was like: Oh, yeah I should definetly read that. What I have seen of Felicia so far, on Supernatural and panel videos from Conventions, made her seem so likable. And when I spotted her on Buffy, I liked the show even more.  Opening her book, that impression only grew. I could relate on quite a number of things right from the start. I am totally not into video games and that stuff but still… Meeting her one day is definetly on my bucket list.

But about this book. Felicia describes being “raised weird”, being homeschooled and getting a 4.0 at college, her struggle of getting acting jobs, building up her own web- show The Guild from scratch, founding Geek and Sundry and of course gaming and what all that meant (and still means) for her life. She does so with a lot of humor. Of course there were parts of the story you just couldn’t laugh at. Someone thinking about suicide is not funny. Like ever. Someone with depression isn’t funny. (It’s a sickness, people. You can’t just snap out of it. It needs medication or therapy or both. When I hear people say things like: “I’m waiting on the new Cody McFaden but he got depression. He should just get over it already and write his next book.” or “She called in sick, will be out for at least two weeks- depression. I want that, too.” I wanna punch someone. Comments like that will stop the people who actually have it from getting help. They’re ashamed and when they think people won’t take it seriously, the odds of them talking to a doctor won’t be better. I don’t suffer from depression but I know it’s terrible to live through. I don’t wish that on anyone.) There were times I wanted to climb into that book and give Felicia a hug. And there were times I had to put the book down laughing. Felicia keeps a nice balance and has a charming way of looking back on her life. That put together with a great writing style (you can practically hear her voice telling you the story while you read it) makes this book a great read.

Personally, I could relate to parts of what was going on with Felicia. I wasn’t homeschooled but, though I was kinda popular in elemantary school, still one of the weird kids no one wanted to talk to in highschool. Always picked last in P.E., only other weird ones to hang out with in the schoolyard… you name it. I went my own way about it and today, I am in a place where I’m happy. Of course, there are some things about my life I’d love to change but can’t. But I have been incredibly lucky. Also, I had to discover that this “being weird” thing isn’t always you. There are people out there just like you. Today, I still sometimes think that the girls I met at college don’t hang with me for who I am but for some other strange reason.

Where Felicia dug herself into video games, I buried myself in books and other stuff. Every free minute I’d spend reading what I had brought home from the library (and every week I carried home bagloads of books).  Later, I started writing stories of my own and fled into those stories when times got rough.

One story in the book made me smile because it was so familiar. It’s where she goes out to meet the guys she has been gaming with online. Who hasn’t had this akward moment when meeting online friends and you don’t even know what to say to each other. The people I’ve met so far were all great but sometimes you don’t really know how to get a conversation going. And sometimes it just all flows and you can’t stop chatting.

There’s a lesson in there. Probably more than one. For me it was: If there is something, you really wanna do, fight for it. If you’re down, you can get back up again. And if you have to build it all from scratch and lose it all along way. You can do it.

“You’re never weird on the internet (almost)” is very well written, inspirational, funny, sad… It has it all. (Felicia, if you, by some miracle ever read this: just take the compliment!) I give this memoir five of five possible stars. Loved it!

One thought on ““You’re never weird on the internet (almost)” by Felicia Day

  1. Pingback: “X-MAL ANDERS Ullrich-Turner-Syndrom! Ja, und?!” herausgegeben von Anne-Christin Ermisch | grueffeline

Leave a Reply

