Cold Fire by John Passarella (a Supernatural novel)

The 14th novel to accompany the show Supernatural is finally here (and yes, I’ve read them all).

Supernatural is about two brothers, Sam and Dean, who travel across America and hunt things that go bump in the night. This novel plays in the 10th season, between the episodes “About the boy” and “Halt & catch fire”. Dean struggels with the mark of Cain and the brothers and their angel friend Castiel are searching for a way to remove the mark.

This novel takes the brothers and Castiel to Indiana, where gruesome murders take place. They discover a connection with the victims: they were all soon-to-be fathers. The brothers dig into the past of the town Braden Heights and discover some troubling secrets as they are hunting whatever creature is responsible.

John Passarella has written two other Supernatural novel and his third one is just as good to read as the previous ones. He manages to catch the tone of the show and paint the characters (the Winchester brothers and Castiel) really well. Castiel’s fake ID even names him Agent Collins which the fans know to be the actors (stage)name. The case is fascinating and takes turns up until the end and it even triggers memories from the Winchester’s individual past with appearances of characters some fans are longing to see again on the show as well.

This book gets 4,5 out of 5 possible gold stars and await the publishing date of the next Supernatural novel this summer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s