Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

“The eighth story. Nineteen years later.” This is what it says on the book. As someone who had most of the other books on publication date and finished them two days later just to start reading them all over again, I was exited about the new book. But I also had my doubts. Would the cursed child live up to my favorite wizard of all time? Would I like Harry as an adult? Since I was never really on board with the whole Ginny and Harry/ Hermione and Ron- thing, I was sceptical. After reading Harry Potter and The Cursed Child I am still not really sure.

The story continues right where Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows left us. Albus is going to Hogwarts for his first year and is worried about getting into Slytherin where he doesn’t want to be. On the train, he and Rose look for a place to sit on the train and find Scorpius, Draco Malfoy’s son, alone. Albus decides to stay, Rose leaves. What maybe no one expected: Harry Potter’s son becomes best friends with Draco Malfoy’s offspring. And the Sorting Hat does put him in Slytherin, to the shock of the whole school. The play fast forwards a bit through the first couple of years, we learn that Albus is no good at flying and his only friend remains Scorpius.The story is really set into motion on the day before Albus leaves for his fourth year of Hogwarts. Amos Diggory pays the Potter home a visit with his niece Delphi and demands that Harry use a time turner and save Cedric. Harry of course refuses that there even is a time turner left. Albus overhears and feels that he has to right one of his father’s wrongs. He and Scorpius excape from the Hogwarts train and visits Mr Diggory in a home for old wizards.

Although this isn’t really a novel like the other books but a theater script, the old “OMG it’s a new Harry Potter book” feeling kicked in at once. I was right back there. Although it is a little weird to have someone not like going to Hogwarts because we spent so many years with Harry dying to go back there and loving every second despite what Snape and Malfoy and life threw at him. We’ve come to know and love Harry and to see his son’s perspective- a perspective that doesn’t paint Harry in the best light- takes a little bit of getting used to. The story plays out and with some of the stuff I am just dying to know how they are putting this on stage. There are some points of the story which I trouble with to fully get behind but this is something for the spoiler section (see below). The important thing though is that we are left with the same feeling for Harry as before. All is right in the end.

If you haven’t made up your mind yet if you want to go and buy and read a copy, I hope I could help you decide. I loved it and I just couldn’t put it down.

 

This book deserves 5 out of 5 possible little gold stars.

 

 

Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler… you get the drill.

 

I mentioned earlier that I have some points of the story that do not really add up for me. The biggest one is the whole ‘Voldemort had a child’ thing. I just can’t imagine him getting someone pregnant. But I’m willing to look past that one eventually.

Leave a Reply

