What I read while I was away…

I haven’t been writing here lately because I just lacked the time. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading. Before Harry Potter and the Cursed Child I read The Fiery Cross and A Breath of Snow and Ashes from the Outlander- series, Der Erdbeerpflücker, Das nackte Gesicht, I have reread almost the whole The Mortal Instruments saga and I started reading Otherland and Supernatural: Mythmaker. I even got in a couple of pages of Ich weiß, dass du lügst and A dance with dragons. For each finished book I will write a few sentences (except TMI, I have already written something on this blog about those amazing books and I stand by what I said). I will do so in the language I read the individual book in.

 

The Fiery Cross

I love all the Outlander books. But I have to admit  that this one was the weakest yet. Still really well written but the story just didn’t catch me. I felt like nothing whatsoever was happening. Looking back, I know that is not true but I just didn’t feel the ‘I can’t turn the pages fast enough and I’m glued to them’ I usually do with books from that series.

I give this book 3 out of 5 possible gold stars.

 

A Breath of Snow and Ashes

Finally, I had my Outlander feeling back on. I started this book immediatly after I finished the one before and there I was- glued to the book, not able to put it down. Some of my favorite book character ever with a good story and great writing. The only thing that darkened my view of the book was that after the end I couldn’t just grab the next one and read on. But book number seven and eight are definetly on my Christmas wish list.

This book deserves 5 out of 5 possible gold stars.

 

Der Erdbeerpflücker

Schon länger hatte ich diese Romanreihe von Monika Feth ins Auge gefasst, alleine weil ich die Cover unheimlich ansprechend fand. Dementsprechend sagte ich nicht Nein, als man mir das Buch leihen wollte. Kurz und gut: Ich war froh, für diese Büchreihe kein Geld investiert zu haben. Ich konnte mit dem Charakteren nicht wirklich etwas anfangen, der Schreibstil war verwirrend und die vielen uneindeutigen Perspektivenwechsel machten das Buch nicht gerade zu einem meiner Lieblingsbücher. Dazu kommt eine Vorhersehbarkeit, die ich gerade bei Kriminalromanen und Thrillern so gar nicht schätze.

Ich tue mich mit niedrigen Bewertungen immer ein wenig schwer, weil ich weiß, dass in solchen Werken unheimlich viel Herzblut und Arbeit steckt, dennoch kann ich diesem Buch leider nicht mehr als 1,5 von 5 möglichen Goldsternchen geben…

 

Das nackte Gesicht

Mal wieder einen Thriller von Sheldon lesen. Für mich bisher immer eine gute Idee, denn Sidney Sheldon gehört zu den Autoren, die mich noch nie enttäuscht haben. Ich habe alle seine Bücher im Regal, leider noch nicht alle gelesen. Auch dieses Buch enttäuscht nicht. Spannend geschrieben, unerwartete, aber plausible Wendungen bis kurz vor Schluss und einfach ein tolles Leseerlebnis.

Ganz klare 4,5 von 5 möglichen Goldsternen.

 

This was basically it. If you want to know more about a specific book on this list, just leave a question in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

